Don’t Pay Someone Else To Replace Your Cabin Air Filter

I’ve owned many different cars over the past 10 years, and I’ve gone to many different places to get my oil changed. Every now and then, they recommend a cabin air filter replacement. If you’ve been driving for a while, you’ve probably experienced something similar. It is usually recommended to replace your car’s cabin air filter about once a year or once every 15,000 miles or so. The cabin air filter filters the air you breathe in your car.

I went to get an oil change today, and they tried to sell me a cabin air filter for $47. I’m actually pretty sure they removed my cabin air filter because they’re the only place I went to get my oil changed since I bought the car a year and a half ago, but I’ll save that story for another day.

I declined, and I went to Advance Auto Parts, bought a cabin air filter for $25 plus tax and replaced it in about 5 minutes myself (you can find it cheaper online, but I just wanted to get it done today). I found a 2 minute instructional video on YouTube showing how to access the cabin air filter for my car through the glove compartment.

You should be able to get a cabin air filter for your car for about $15-30 or maybe less. Most places will quote you about $40-$80 to replace your cabin air filter. All it really takes is popping out your glove compartment (in most cars) and swapping the filter.

Don’t Pay Someone Else To Replace Your Cabin Air Filter

Below is the video I watched on YouTube to install my cabin air filter. You can search on YouTube for your specific car, and chances are, there will be a quick video showing how to do it.

I have no relationship with the company mentioned in the video. I just thought their video was concise and thorough.

2 thoughts on “Don’t Pay Someone Else To Replace Your Cabin Air Filter

Leave a Reply

